

STATE CAPITOL SACRAMENTO, CALIFORNIA 95814

49th Annual Zeke Grader Fisheries Forum Joint Committee on Fisheries and Aquaculture Chair: Senator Mike McGuire Vice Chair: Assemblymember Mark Stone

October 19th, 2022 – 1:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m. Capitol Swing Space, Room 1200

Live stream: http://senate.ca.gov/

1. Welcoming Remarks

Senator Mike McGuire, Committee Chair

2. State of the Fishery; Remarks from Agency and Department Leaders

Charlton Bonham - Director, California Department of Fish and Wildlife

3. California's Ongoing Drought and Impacts on State Fisheries

Joseph James – Chairman, Yurok Tribe

John McManus – President, Golden State Salmon Association

Damon Goodman – Mount Shasta-Klamath Regional Director, CalTrout

Kate Poole – Senior Attorney, Natural Resources Defense Council

George Bradshaw – President, Pacific Coast Federation of Fishermen's Associations

4. All Hands On Deck; Saving Kelp in California

Dr. Michael Graham – Professor, San Jose State University
Dr. Sara Hamilton - Postdoctoral Researcher, Bodega Marine Labs
Hayley Carter – Senior Science Officer, Ocean Science Trust
Jenn Eckerle – California Natural Resources Agency Acting Deputy Secretary for Oceans and Coastal Policy, Ocean Protection Council Acting Executive Director

5. Outlook for the 2022/2023 Dungeness Crab Season

Dr. Craig Shuman – Marine Region Director, California Department of Fish and WildlifeDr. Clarissa Anderson – Executive Director, Southern California Coastal Ocean ObservingSystem

Dick Ogg - Commercial Fisherman, Bodega Bay, California

Ben Platt – President, California Coast Crab Association

Kate Kauer – Fisheries Strategy Lead, The Nature Conservancy

6. Fishery Committee and Aquaculture Program Reports

Rachelle Fisher – Administrative Team, California Dungeness Crab Task Force

Dr. Luke Gardner - California Sea Grant Extension Aquaculture Specialist, Moss Landing

Marine Laboratories, San Jose State University

Mitch Farro – Vice Chair, California Advisory Committee on Salmon and Steelhead Trout

Dr. Liz Whiteman – Executive Director, Ocean Science Trust

- 7. Public Comments
- 8. Closing Comments: Committee Chair and Members
- 9. Adjournment